The City of Kothos
Kothian Triad

Chapter Headings | Prologue | Glossary | Creston | Bella To | Tuppa To | Batuma Kan | Wen Ta | Sal Li | Cleophi Tan
Contact Me!


Glossary II

Drib in Tree

Pages 1\ 2

Transliteration Cartouch

Scroll of Transliteration

The symbols are a spell that must be translated by the student to receive the Scroll of Transliteration.  It is a series of five languages (one translates into numbers before it can be translated into words).  Once all words of the spell is translated the knowledge of what it means creates a mental block which inhibits the ability of the woman with the knowledge to pass it on to someone else.  No man has ever been able to translate the script.

Emotion Cartouch

Scroll of Emotion

The symbols represent both the chaos and order represented in the attempts to control emotions.  A student must demonstrate the ability to effective control the emotive state of a volunteer with verbal or movement commands.  They must bring the volunteer through a range of emotions on command and return them to a calm restive state at completion.  The outer lines represent emotional state of opposing beings; the straight lines bordering the center object is the attempt to control from both (the controller and the controlled) merging into one. The center object represents the controlled chaos of a proper emotive spell.
Scroll of Verbal

Scroll of Verbal Command

The symbols are multiple mouths giving commands.  To receive the scroll a student must show that they have the ability to manifest magic with the use of verbal commands.  The repetition of the mouths in the symbol represents the power of repetition in gaining command of the magical words themselves.  There are usually no more than 5 mouths used (as in some artistic representations made by artists expressing their own versions of the concept) but 3 is the recommending amount by the Blue Temple and how the official scroll from the Blue Temple represents the symbols.  A student must crate at least 20 different manifestations of magic using verbal commands alone, to receive acceptances as a priestess of Voice.  Once a caster has achieved this honor they can, if they wish, move on to the higher levels of magic, Compulsion, Emotion and Illusion.
Scroll of Movement

Scroll of Motion Command

The symbol is a series of hands in different position with an eye in the center.  A student must show that they have the ability to manifest magic with the use of motion.  They must create at least 20 different manifestations of magic using motion alone to received acceptance as a priestess of motion.  Once a caster has achieved this honor they can, if they wish, move on to the higher level of magic, Compulsion, Emotion and Illusion.
Scroll of Compulsion

Scroll of Compulsion

The compulsion symbol is a combination of the Verbal and Motion symbols with the Eye of Aria in the center.  A caster must have already been accepted as a priestess in both the Verbal and Motion Arts.  This is because both are needed in order to cast a proper compulsion spell and such spells are cast on human beings.  Whichever is the casters least methodology is the one used to compel the body to act as needed, the other is to control the mind to accept the compulsion as normal behavior on their part.  The combination of methodology is meant to remind the caster that when using only one or the other, the spell will probably not last long (as there will be active resistance on the person on whom the spell has been cast) and the person compelled will harbor serious animosity which sometimes turns violent.  So a single methodology is not recommended but recognized as sometimes necessary.  So the combination of the Verbal and Motion symbolically implies that a combination of tools is always the best method in a compulsion spell.  Once a caster has achieved this honor they can, if they wish, move on to the higher levels of magic, Illusion and Emotion.
Scroll of Alchemy

Scroll of Alchemy

The symbol can be defined by its various parts as any potion can be.  The four circles on the top represent the four elements: fire, earth, water and air.  The three on the bottom represent the three manifestations of any combination of the elements: solid, liquid or vaporous.  The oval in the middle separated by a waving and straight line represents the various methods of mixture to create a whole.  A student must demonstrate a knowledge of the elements and how to create five aggressive (increase the emotional or physical state of something), five passive (reduce an agitated state of being to a passive state of being) and five neutralizing potions (eliminating the affects of an outside force on a state of being) for healing, fighting and creating.  That would be a working knowledge of at least 15 potions.
Inner Council Emblem

Emblem of the Inner Council

The Kothian Inner Council consists of the Queen, the Ladies of the Blue and Green.  They are each represented in the emblem with aspects of their respective goddesses.  The All Seeing Eye of Aria at the top; the water and fowl of Karpa on the left and the spear, nut and leaf representing Tara on the right.  This is one of several acceptable emblems to display to honor the Inner Council.
The Throne of Tu

The Throne of Tu

This is the image of the Kothian Throne during the Tu Dynasty.  It was originally designed by the Bella Toís great grandmother Ma To, who defeated her predecessor, Va Mar, Thirteenth in the Mar Royal Lineage, in Honorable Combat.

Black & White Gallary | Color Gallary
Site Copyright © 2015 All Rights Reserved
Created by Otto Von Bailey
Site design by Otto Von Bailey
Art and stories Copyright by Otto Von Bailey